Chinese Herbal Chicken Soup

Posted on

This is one soup hubby & I loved …sometimes I would add noodles but most times, we will just have it as it is as we did last night, with a plate of Stir-Fried Oyster Sauce Iceberg Lettuce 🙂

This is the combination of assortment of Chinese Herbs I had used for my Chicken Soup …. you can get various pre-packed combination of such herbs meant for Chicken or Pork Ribs soups from the Chinese Medical Hall and the label normally will tell you what medicinal value it may have … just simply give the herbs a quick rinse before use …

Normally such herbal soup is best “double-boiled” but I don’t have a big enough “double-boiler” pot so I cooked it in my Crockpot/Slow Cooker …some people prefer to use skinless chicken as it is healthier since herbal soup is supposed to be a health soup but I left the skin on the legs but stripped the skin off the breasts … I like my soup with a little oil in it still …tastier 😉

RECIPE

Ingredients:

a pre-packed packet of Chinese Herbs 

1 whole chicken, chopped into 8 pieces or you may use 4 whole chicken legs

1.5 – 2 ltr water (use less water if you wish a more concentrated soup broth)

salt, to taste

Methods:

  • Rinse the Chinese Herbs, set aside
  • Clean and chop the chicken into 8 pieces if using whole chicken or if using whole legs just leave it as it is, skin the pieces if you wish to have a truly healthy soup
  • Boil the chicken in water for 5 minutes and then lift the pieces of chicken into the Double-Boiler or  Crockpot/Slow Cooker
  • Tip in the Chinese Herbs, add 1.5 – 2 litre hot water to the pot 
  • If double-boiling, double boil for about 8 hours …keep watch that the boiling water in the double-boiler does not dry up
  • If cooking in the Crockpot/Slow Cooker, set it on Auto and cook for 6 hours
  • When done, add a dash of salt to taste …not too much as herbal soup shouldn’t be overly salty!
  • Serve up with your other dishes for dinner with rice or you may, like us, enjoy the bowl of soup as your dinner, accompanied with a stir-fried green vegetable dish

4 responses »

  1. shawn.leishman

    ok just got to this post and this one wins it more than the mushroom soup… hehehe…

    Reply
    • Shawn, this one was real good because the soup was clear just like a consomme .. I set it at Auto so that it is not boiling away but merely slow-cooking similar to ‘double-boiling’

      Reply
  2. “I don’t have a big enough “double-boiler” pot so I cooked it in my Crockpot/Slow Cooker”

    Thanks for the slow cooker idea. I was having a hard time with “double-boiler” fitting too.

    Also, I wish I knew the names of all the ingredients shown in the ingredients photo up there. I think I recognize huang qi, huai shan and red dates but not sure what the others are.

    Is this soup good for blood circulation?

    Reply
    • YLK, I think the pack of herbs I used above is a “luk mdi” combi …and yes, I cooked it in a slow cooker too … this is just for general well-being … for blood circulation, you need to have “tin chat” in it 😉

      Reply

Leave a comment